Saturday, October 27, 2012

The Island-Michael Stark

I was perusing the free books available on Nook and Kindle last week and I came across Micael Stark's The Island. It was broken down into 5 parts, with the first 3 being free and the last 2 installments only being 99 cents. The description grabbed my interest enough to read for free and I figured that at less than 2 bucks, it was worth the investment to finish even if it sucked in a most royal fashion.

That being said, I actually liked the story. It got a bit slow and redundant at times, but I kept on reading. I'm just having a bit of problem with my review. I don't know how to review it without being spoilerish. I could just give a synopsis, but that's not reviewing, that's more like screening(and cheating). So, I guess I'll say what I can, without giving too much away, but start with.....


The island starts off with William telling about how he is leaving the world behind to die in peace. He's not harboring some death wish or anything, he knows all is lost and he'd rather spend his last days, as well as that of humanity, doing something he wants to do. There's a viral outbreak spreading through Mexico and William can read the signs and he knows that all is not as it seems. He doesn't believe the media and the government when they assure everyone that all is ok and there's no need to worry. He sees this as an apocalyptic scourge about to wipe out most of humanity. He also knows that with his own chidhood health issues that he has no hopes of being one of the few that survive. So he pretty much empties his life, cuts ties and heads out to this island off the Caronlina coast, not to run away so he can live, but so he can die as he wants.

 Stark does a good job of fooling you into thinking that this is another zombapocalypse story. But as the story goes on, you find out that there is much more going on than some random case of 28 days later. I really like the development of characters and the back story he built, although he does get a bit sluggish and repetitive at times. He also does a good job of tossing in some gore and creepy. He leaves you hanging somewhat at the end, but then, that's what a writer should do when he wants you to read the next installment. Another thing I really liked was the way that I was able to "see" everything. He wrote the story to where it was very easy to visualize the places and characters. Of course it helps that he used some actual places to reinforce the scenic imagery and any southerner could picture the exact people he was writing about. Overall, I was pleased with the time I put into reading this and will defintely read The Rock when it comes out in early 2013.

 I give it a B-.

Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Finally read Awakening

I'm not going to do a in depth review since the sister did one months ago and also, it's "chick lit" and I have a manly ego to keep inflated. :)

All b.s aside, I enjoyed the second installment in Nicole's MacDonald's Birthright Trilogy. She picks up a couple of months after the explosive ending of The Arrival and continues to move the story and characters forward.  There was a couple of twists that I really liked, especially the addition of a new pet/friend(speaking of pets/friends, my massively huge cat, patches, aka fathead, is trying to crawl up on my chest as I write this). 

This book was a lot putting pieces together. It was like the first book started us on a journey, and the second one was like the road trip. We didn't see the "big stuff" happen, but we got filled in on a lot, saw some great development and she kept it interesting enough that it reads real smooth. I feel like its a book of revelations, because some pretty important things were revealed and I just can't say too much without being a big ol' story spoiler.  But, even though this is the transit story getting us to the real treat, she did toss in some excitement.

One thing I will comment on is the POV. Nicole writes this with changing POV's. A lot of folks don't like it and for those that lay the book down, it's their loss. I mentioned in the first book that it was a tad confusing at first, but once you get the hang of it, and get to know the characters, it levels out fine. But, all that being said, she did tackle that issue with this book. She still has the ever-changing POVs, but its better organized and she even explains it up front for us thickheads.  At first, I thought it was a crazy style, but she makes it work and she does it well.

All in all, I definitely recommend picking it up. If you haven't read the first book in the series, she has it for free on her website and the second book is definitely worth the 4 bucks I shelled out for the Nook version.
Thanks Nicole for sharing your story with us and I look forward to Feel the Burn.

Saturday, September 15, 2012

Two ravens and a very badass crow

Just finished Kevin Hearne's Two Ravens and One Crow.  It was brief, quickly read, and as always entertaining.  My calling it brief was not a complaint or form of criticism, it is as intended a novella, about 52 pages(not counting the sneak peek at Trapped) long(Nook pages), and fills in some blanks.  You see, between the last installation about everyone's favorite druid and the next, 12 years in the story and several months reader wise will have passed, so Mr. Hearne, being the awesomely cool guy he is, decided to provide us with a wee bit of filler on both accounts.

The story takes place 6 years after Tricked and gives us a little insight to a few things.  We learn about the Morrigan's unique perspective of baseball, a peek at the progression of the dynamic between Atticus and Granuille and what I am sure will be some background to explain some of how Atticus will be interacting with the Norse in Trapped.

One nugget of detail that I really appreciated was the dive into how the druid gets his ink repaired. That was definitely interesting. 

There wasn't as much banter with Oberon, but there wasn't much opportunity with the length of the story.  As always, I was left wanting more, not in a dissatisfied, the story needed more way, but in a, darnit, I love this story and could just keep reading on and on about anything Kevin Hearne writes kind of way.

All in all, I'm happy that he took the time to pen it for us to read. I hope Kevin knows how much we all really love his story and I for one appreciate him for giving us some filler.  Now I'm ready Trapped. 

I will add one more thing, if you haven't read the other books in this series, you will be lost if you just pick this one up. It's not intended to be a stand alone read, so don't try it, you will be doing yourself a huge injustice.  Buy the books, all of them, start at the beginning. They aren't expensive and they are well worth the time. 

Sunday, August 5, 2012

Today Sucks

I got up early and put a yummy sunday meal into the crock pot. Thinking that YAY something good to have later and I didn't really even have to work at it very hard.

Then about an hour later, I get a call from my brother.


My dad's in the hospital.

Luckily I have a best friend who works in that ER. She's at the beach in florida but that that did not keep her from calling up there  and making sure they knew who he was and to take care of him.

I have nothing but respect for nurses. Their job is hard, they work very hard and get little thanks. They see so many patients that it gets to be routine and sometimes people can start to become numbers. I don't ever want someone I love to be just another number on a chart. I wanted them to see him as a person.

So she called up there, made sure he had a good doctor and made sure he got a on a good floor with good nurses.

Have I mentioned that I love my best friend.

Well I do, she's amazing.

Dad's CHF has flared, his kidneys are sucking. He's stable but we don't really know what is going to happen. If it's good, his CHF will straighten out, his numbers will come down and he'll be able to go home.

Let's pray for that outcome.

Friday, August 3, 2012

Gunmetal Magic
I love, love, love the Kate Daniels series written by the husband-wife duo known as Ilona Andrews. Gunmetal Magic is set in the Kate Daniel universe. Instead of following Kate we are seeing the world the Andrea Nash's eyes. Andrea has been Kate's bff for most of the series and she is pretty badass. Where Kate wields a sword, Andrea can take out a target either up close and personal or far away all sniper style.

Andrea has issues. She had an abusive past, mistreated by her clan (they set her on fire as a kid, I don't know how much more effed up of a childhood you could manage). She is beastkin and not a regular shifter, so she's often shunned. She was playing at being human and got outed during the last book. She is also on the outs with her mate. There is plenty there to make this book work. To make it interesting.

I read on the author's page that many people felt it was too short. At first I thought the same thing, but she's right it's just as long if not longer than many of her other books. It just goes at such a good pace, that it doesn't feel that long.

I enjoyed this book. I loved the resolution, I loved the continuation of the story line, I loved finding out more about Andrea and I loved seeing a character have actual growth. Many times during a series, it takes forever for a character to just "grow up". Not here. She gets it, she has to make changes, she has to take responsibility for her actions. It was refreshing after reading countless books this summer where the characters seem to never learn from their past, never change their game.

I don't want to forget to mention, but this book is also funny. There's plenty of "heh" moments. It is smartly written and rather enjoyable all around. I would suggest you read the entire series from the beginning or you won't fully appreciate everything that is going on during the course of the story. Seriously, you'll wonder who is this "volhv".

I give this book a solid A.

Friday, July 27, 2012

Side Jobs filled in the time

So, I'm patiently awaiting...ok semi-patiently awaiting, a few different new releases.  I'm waiting on the novella that Kevin Hearne has coming out next month, as well as the next full length IDC book that will be hitting the shelves in November, the third installment of Patrick Rothfuss's Kingkiller epic trilogy and Jim Butcher's newest Dresden Files release, which I'm hoping will be no later than Halloween. 

Hearne's Atticus and Butcher's Dresden are two of my favorite book characters at the moment.  I catch myself wondering what is going on with Harry. You're right, it's sad and I know it, but I am still hooked on finding out how Butcher is going to terrorize Harry's life next. 

You see, he has built an entire universe surrounding the detective wizard(or wizard detective, not sure), and after a dozen full length novels, there is a lot going on, with a lot that CAN go on. It has become a soap opera for me.  I GOTTA find out what is happening next.  The beauty of the series is that you not only get literarally(is that a word?) involved, even attached to the main character, you also become engrossed with several other characters and you also want to know more about them.  This has given the Butcher the opportunity to be able to spin off some short stories that center around other characters. 

Side Jobs, his collection of short stories does just that.  The stories all involved Harry and most of them are still from Harry's perspective, but they do a good job of filling in some details between novels and they also give you a more intimate look at some other characters.

There were 2 stories that really stood out to me.  I'll not reveal much of anything here because I don't want to be a spoiler leak to anyone who hasn't read it, but you get a story from Thomas' perspective that is really enlightening in a few ways. You find out more about the vampire White Court and you also find out more about what makes Thomas click and how he views his younger half-brother.  I really enjoyed that story.

Another story that really stood out to me and I enjoyed a lot was the short novella at the end. It was written from Murphy's view and takes place immediately after the tragic ending of Changes.  It sheds light on a lot of what was going on in the next full length book and fills in some blanks for you.  Also, getting to see inside Murphy's head was an interesting revelation.

So, if you're a Dresden fan, I definitely recommend picking up or downloading Side Jobs. Its worth the few bucks and the few hours you'll spend reading it, and it's a nice way to feed the appetite if you're starting to get a bit restless waiting for the next Dresden adventure.

Tuesday, July 10, 2012

Busy busy busy

So, I've been horrible at posting recently.  I've been super busy and haven't read anything new in the past few weeks. I've got to get to the book store or even better, break down and buy an e-reader.  In the past, I have read e-books on my laptop, but that's not always conducive to my lifestyle.  I'm thinking that if I hook myself up with a kindle fire, nook, or new tablet, I will be able to get more reading in. Plus, there are a couple of things coming up that are in e-format only.  Also, I live so far from a decent bookstore, that I don't always make it by one when I'm really busy.  All that being said, I'm buying an e-reader this week! Presenttime for Del!

And now for my excuses....I've been working  a superlot lately...gotta pay the bills! But, I've also been working on my book a little here and there.  It's kinda crazy, I was all inspired and cranked out about 15k words in a couple of weeks, and then, I got in to a non-writey mood. Since then, I've been jotting down little "scenes". Something will come to me and I'll put it on paper(computer monitor actually).  I'm feeling like the muse is about to strike again though! My goal is to have it ready for my first re-write by Halloween. I have all the ideas there and I pretty much have it ready to go, just somedays, I can't get the words out, while on other days, I can't stop writing. I've been working on this particular story for about 7 months now.  Hopefully, in a couple of weeks, I might feel bold enough to share an excerpt here.

Oh yea, I met the fantastically awesome Kevin Hearne. He was just as cool and friendly in person as he is online. I really enjoyed meeting him and hearing his thoughts and answers to our questions.  I also listened to a podcast interview with him that I enjoyed a lot.  If he comes back this way, or if I'm ever out his way, I will definitely make sure to get to speak to him again. Thanks for visiting the south Kevin!

Friday, June 8, 2012

Mini-roadtrip tomorrow

This isn't a book review, but it's book related(and I want to brag!), so I'll go ahead and post about it. 
Tomorrow, I, along with the awesome sister and her hubs, are riding up the road a piece to meet the incredible Mr. Kevin Hearne! He is the author of the fun-filled urban fantasy Iron Druid Chronicles. 
His series is chock full of great wit and adventure. They involve a lot fun twists and turns on all different kinds of theology and are just plain 'ol fun to read.

 I am going to take my copy of Tricked and get him to sign it and hopefully chew the fat with him for a few.  I'm super dorkcited!

Tuesday, May 22, 2012

Tricked; Dianne's Take
I know you've read Del's take on Tricked earlier. I have been dragging my feet about posting this update. I don't know why exactly. But life has just been getting in the way lately.

Don't take my procrastination as a slight against the series, or this particular book. This installment continued to hammer on home what I've been saying all along about Kevin Hearne. He is a masterful world builder. The amount of lore he weaves into his world, is a key indicator of his exceptional writing style.

He effortlessly went from his last installment which landed Atticus heavy with the Norse, to this story which had him Ass-Deep into trouble with the Dine (Navajo) Gods.

As in the previous three books, Oberon is mega charming and one of the most shining beacons in the story. If this story doesn't make you 1. want to buy an Irish Wolfhound or 2. fall in love with a fictional hound dog, you have no soul.
Coyote is one of my favorite characters in IDC world. He's neither a good or bad character. He's just Coyote. Which If you've read any Native American stories about Coyote, you'll understand that Trickster gods are always to be watched out for and never to be trusted.

The Norse is still a problem and Atticus is coming to realize that for all his 2,000 years in this world, he doesn't always make the best decisions. There is also a resolution of sorts with the local resident vampire.

I was very happy with this book. I felt like he wrapped up a few loose ends and opened the book up for the fifth installment. Again, I always recommend this series. It's smartly written, it's fun and it's worth the read.

I give it an A++

I am super excited y'all. If all goes right we will be heading to Nashville to meet Mr. Kevin Hearne on June 9th at his book signing at Parnassus Books. Let's cross our fingers and hope that nothing happens to throw a wrench in those plans.

Bear meets Girl

Bear meets Girl is the seventh installment of Pride series.  This series is written by Shelly Laurenston. If you ever need a good laugh, this is a serious you should definitely consider picking up and adding to your library. The world is getting pretty intricate, but you still get to see most of your favorite characters from previous books. I must say I loved this side of Novikov (the previous book in the series' main character)

I really do love her world building. Maybe it's her slow talking southern wolves that hooked me long ago. I can't go on enough about the fun factor this series brings. You will find yourself laughing out loud every few pages or so.

From Laurenston's website:
"Lou Crushek is a reasonable, mellow, easygoing kind of guy—especially for a shapeshifting bear. But once someone starts killing the scumbags he works so hard to bust, that really gets under his fur. Especially when that someone is a curvy she -- tiger who's bringing his passion out of hibernation...
Marcella Malone is a member of an elite feline protection unit, and Crush is proving one major pain in her gorgeous tail. The only reason she's joined forces with him is to track down the wealthy human who's got her entire species in his ruthless sights. But there's no denying that beneath that big, burly exterior is a man who knows how to rub her in all the right ways..."

If you want a fun, light summer read; this is the book/series for you.  I have turned several of my friends into major Laurenston fans. Maybe you'll pick up her books as well. I love hearing from new converts. This book has lots of laughs, a good dose of smex and even more layering/world building into the Pride universe.

If you'd like to pick it up, or some of the others in the series check out your local books store of

Thursday, May 17, 2012

My long overdue post about Tricked

I waited and waited for months on the 4th Iron Druid book from Kevin Hearne and I was at the bookstore to pick up my held copy as soon as they opened on release day.  Of course I read right through that day, but I have been in such a run around with work and life and all that stuff that I'm just now getting around to sharing my thoughts...Sorry!

I loved the book, no surprise there. I love the entire universe that Hearne has created. His portrayal of all the different theologies is so appealing to me and the research that he must do to create all these stories must be painstaking.
With Tricked, he brings in more Native American mythology and its all interesting and makes a great tale.  This book like his others are chock full of great humor, especially in the form of zingers from Oberon. 
There's a lot going on in this book, but it only progresses the continuing story a bit. So, I'm really looking forward to seeing what is going to happen next, I'm just glad that I don't have to wait a year.

Overall, I loved the book, the story is fun, full of interesting details, extremely humorous and at time wildly and delightfully violent. I definitely mark it a must read. 

Monday, April 23, 2012

One more day!

So, the book I've been waiting for the most here lately comes out tomorrow.  I'll be at bookstore waiting on them to open the doors first thing.
Kevin Hearne's latest installation in his Iron Druid Chronicles will hit the shelfs on April 24th.  Tricked is the 4th book of the series about a really old and really cool druid and his dog and his adventures. Hearne does a great job of keeping the story quick and entertaining. His wit is fresh and fun and the way he writes the characters is just damn entertaining.  I recommend picking up the entire series if you haven't read them yet.

Friday, April 13, 2012

EEEk I've been bad

I've read a couple review worthy books and I'll have their reviews up shortly. I've been pacing frantically waiting for Kevin Hearne's latest and greatest to come out.

There are tons of books coming out this month and last. I need a fairy to come give me either a bn, amazon or itunes gift card so i can get my read on!

but for you viewing pleasure is a small excerpt from my book....


“What the eff, James? What the eff?”

“Damn it Callie Anne. Learn to cuss like an adult.” He spit out a mouthful of blood on the old wood floors. He cradled his jaw in his hand. “You sure as hell hit like one.”

“oh you flatterer.” I stormed out of the room and into the kitchen. I yanked open the freezer and grabbed a bag of frozen peas. I threw them at his face as he entered the kitchen.


“Blah, blah. Let’s get back to the part where you’ve been lying to me our whole damn lives.”

“Not lying. I can’t tell people outside of the family.”

“Well you just told me.”

“Well you’re family.”

“haven’t I always been family?”

“Yes” He sighed.

“Then why did you wait until now to tell me? Hell I’ve been seeing spooky shit my whole life and it never occurred to you, that I might like to know that you’re like me?”

“I’m not like you. We don’t really know what you’re like. But I didn’t tell you because of Molls. She’s not like either of us.”

“Still shitty of you. See, I can cuss like an adult.” I said, hands on hips.

Friday, March 30, 2012

Kiss Me I'm Irish Read Along: Ch 21-25 + Epilogue

I have really enjoyed this read along. I will absolutely do more in the future. It's been fun seeing others blogs and reading their opinions on the book. I'm sort of sad that this is the final week. Well here goes the final section.
Questions for Chapters 21-25 + epilogue

1. In a moment of anger, Atticus reveals something about himself that he usually keeps very secret, for his own benefit. Has something similar ever happened to you? Have you ever spilled a closely guarded secret in a moment of excitement or anger or absent-mindedness?

When someone entrusts me with information, my lips are sealed. I'll take it to the grave. I can't think of a single time I've spilled a big secret. These lips are sealed!

2. Atticus tells Mrs. MacDonagh, "the universe is exactly the size that your soul can encompass. Some people live in extremely small worlds, and some live in a world of infinite possibility." Then he asks her what she is going to do with the new information she has discovered. What would you do if you found out that other beings were among us? Would you deny it or embrace it?

I would embrace it whole-heartedly. I think the world is full of wondrous things and why deny a few more ingredients.

3. So far, Atticus has revealed a few of his powers and has even shared some power by putting bindings on Granuaile. What do you think has been his coolest or most helpful power so far?

I know it is probably one of his tamer powers, but I love his ability to talk with Oberon. Oberon is great and has his back. I think his ability to interact with Oberon is one of the most fulfilling powers I've encountered in fiction.

4. Atticus gets pretty pissed when he finds out that Aenghus Óg is drawing power from the Earth and, in turn, killing it. That's when Atticus decides he must fight the old Fae for committing such a heinous offense. What is something you would fight for, even if it meant you might die trying?

The safety of my family and our freedom to live our life the way we want.

5. What did you think of the final showdown between Atticus and Aenghus Óg? Did it go down the way you expected? Was there anything about their battle that surprised you?

I was surprised with the hell spawn. But I was super excited when he got brought down the Hell instead of the Morrigan coming for him.

6. What was your favorite/least favorite part of Hounded? Who was your favorite/least favorite character?

This sounds like such a cop out, but I do not have a least favorite part of Hounded. I loved the whole book and wouldn't change a thing. With that said, I don't really have a least favorite character. I mean you totally have to hate the witches, but they had to be there. Plus  I loved how terrible he made them.

7. What do you think is coming up next for Atticus? Will you continue reading this series, and if so, what do you hope to see happen in the next book?

EEEEK! I've already read the next books. For anyone debating whether or not to do so, I say DO IT!! They are wonderful.

Read-alongers: If you have CAPTCHA on your blog, please consider turning it off (even for the day). With the new CAPTCHA system on Blogger, it is even more difficult and annoying to comment, especially if someone is trying to comment from a phone or tablet. Truth is, many commentors now skip over blogs with CAPTCHA. To keep commenting simple and fun for everyone, please turn CAPTCHA off. If you need insturctions on how to turn CAPTCHA off, visit this post: CAPTCHA: How to Eradicate Evil.

Hounded Discussion Schedule:
March 02nd: Chapters 1-5 hosted by Geeky Blogger's Book Blog
March 09th: Chapters 6-10 hosted by On a Book Bender
March 16th: Chapters 11-15 hosted by Smash Attack Reads!
March 23rd: Chapters 16-20 hosted by In the Closet With a Bibliophile
March 30th: Chapters 21-25 + epilogue hosted by The Unread Reader
April 06th: Special interview with Kevin Hearne & announcement of winners!

What you could win:
Everyone who signs up for the read-along and participates each week will be entered for a chance to win one of three prizes. Best part: there will one winner per prize! The first name drawn will get first choice and so on. Wondering what's up for grabs? A Third Eye Tote Bag, a Sausage Fest Pint Glass, and a personalized, signed copy of any book in the Iron Druid Chronicles.

International participants: The giveaway is open to you as well (as long as The Book Depository delivers to your country), though the prize is limited to any book in the Iron Druid Chronicles (not signed).

Grab a button:

Friday, March 23, 2012

Kiss Me I'm Irish Read Along: Ch 16-20

Over at, is the continuation of our Iron Druid Chronicle Read Along. You should really go check this out, Love the series, love the author. Just all around fun!

Here we go....

1.  Just after Atticus is shot, Oberon has to "ninja" his way out of the shop and into Hal's Beamer (with the icky air freshener). Have you ever been in a situation where you had to "ninja" your way out and try not to be discovered? If so, what happened? 

Yes! One time I was at a music festival with my best friend. She had recently broken up with a guy and we were waxing poetic about his downfalls when BAM we see him across the street. We ducked really low and tried to hide behind a group of people. We were trying "become one" with the group all stealthy ninja like. FAILURE! He saw us. We were forced to eat our words and be nice to him. He was like a little lost puppy and he then continued to follow us from stage to stage, playing tag a long.

2. Atticus's main goal through a large portion of the book is not only protecting Oberon, but also protecting the sword. You are now living in a paranormal world and you need a weapon! What weapon do you choose and what can it do? 

I choose a bow and a quiver full of infinity iron and silver tipped arrows. I.E. it's always magically full. I honestly, would rather fight from far away and just take people out that way. Plus the arrows could turn into flaming arrows when needed. So I could set things on fire, for whatever reason necessary.

3.  To recharge and heal after being shot, Atticus sleeps naked, tattoos to the earth, in a patch of grass near the Civic Center in downtown Scottsdale. Where is the weirdest place you have ever slept?  

TIE: It is either on a parking deck roof or in an elevator.
My mom passed away when I was in high school. I spent ALOT fo time in the hospital. A few times I had friends stay the night with me. Well being typical teenagers we had to keep ourselves entertained. One night we went up on the roof of the parking deck and played cards all night. We had brought blankets to keep warm, so we just decided to stretch out and sleep. On another night, around the same time. We decided to hang out in one of the elevators and ride it up and down all night. Eventually we just fell asleep between 2-5 when no one was using the elevator.

4. We finally find out some very interesting information about Granuaile and I don't know about you, but I certainly wasn't expecting to find that she's sharing her head with someone else. What about you, did you expect anything along those lines? If not, what were you expecting concerning Granuaile?  

I sort of thought Granuaile was going to be a Goddess or some other supernatural creature. I was not expecting her to be sharing his skull with a very old witch.

5.  Laksha is a witch, a truly evil one at that for many of the things she's done in the past. However, she's supposedly seen the error of her ways. Do you think she really has? Would you be willing to trust her? Do you think Atticus is smart to have decided to trust her to help him with the "other" witches?  

I think for Laksha, you can trust her as far as you can throw her. She would be a great ally to have, and I would want to be on her good side. However, I wouldn't trust her more than I absolutely had to. Your actions speak louder than your words. She would have to prove to me that she deserved my trust.

The Hunger Games :Movie Review

Here are a few highlights:

1. The movie stayed true to the book.

2. It got a bigger emotional response from me, than probably any other movie. I full on boo hoo'd during several parts.

3. the imagery was beautiful.

4. Jennifer Lawrence was fantastic. That is how you play somewhat aloof, but full of emotion/passion at the same time. You could always see a myriad of emotions just brewing underneath.

5. Lenny Kravitz as Cinna was spectacular.  He was the embodiment of Cinna. Such a cool combination of understanding and compassion.

6. The soundtrack was spectacular.

Go see it, bring tissues.

Grade: A

Friday, March 16, 2012

Kiss Me I'm Irish Read Along: Week 3

1. I love Leif Helgarson, Viking Vampire, Esq. I have to say that combo makes a pretty cool attorney. If you could have a paranormal/mythical beastie (or combo) covering your tuckus in court, what would you choose and why?

I would definitely go with a vampire. He could charm the jury if need be, making them find me Not Guilty!

2. The police show up to question Atticus about his Irish Wolfhound, Oberon. If you could own any dog breed, what would it be and why? (P.S. Oberon is going on my list of favorite sidekicks!)

I love oberon and an Irish wolfhound is definitely high up on the list, but I have such a soft spot for Basset  Hounds! 

 3. Malina Sokolowski and the other Sisters of the Three Auroras coven have my antennae up. What is your opinion of them? 

I do not trust them at all. In my eyes, they would screw over Atticus if it served them, or even if it didn't, just to prove that they could.  They're sort of scary.

4. Brighid, goddess of poetry, fire and the forge, gave Atticus the power of Cold Iron, which can be used to fight off that nasty lilttle hellspawn. If you could wield one magical power, what would it be and why?

I think I would want to be able to teleport. It could be offensive or defensive. If you're stuck in a no win situation, you just leave. If you need to sneak up on someone, well you're never in one place too long.

 5. The cops show up at Atticus’ shop to search for poor Oberon, who remains magically hidden throughout the ordeal. What is the one thing you would do if you could remain hidden from sight? I want to hear some good answers for this one! 

I would spy on people all the time. I would go to big governmental meetings and see what's really going on. I would go to big sports teams and see who's really going to snag Peyton Manning!

Saturday, March 10, 2012

Hounded Read Along Week 2

Over at we're doing the second installment of the read along for hounded. so go over and give it a shot!

Discussion Questions for Chapters 6 — 10
1. In Chapter 6, Atticus goes hunting with Oberon and Flidais. What was supposed to be a fun hunting trip turned rather disastrous. Were you expecting something like this to happen or did it catch you by surprise? Have you ever had something that should have been fun turn disastrous or nearly disastrous?

I was caught off guard by the disastrous turn. I felt so bad for oberon. poor chap. I feel like my life is one walking disaster after the other. Heck, simple dinners turn into trips to the hospital in my life.

2. We are only briefly introduced to the witches (or, a witch) in chapter 7. What are your first impressions? How much would you trust the witches? Why?

My first impression was that they shouldn't be trusted. I just didn't get  a good vibe.
3. Oberon says, “With dogs you just go up and smell their asses and you know where you stand. It’s so much easier. Why can’t humans do that?” Do you ever wish there was an easier way to find out where you stand with someone (besides Oberon’s suggestion, of course)? In what cases would it be easier or better to hide your true feelings?

I believe just putting it all out there is better than not knowing. A lot of times we make wrong moves, or try to impress people, or try too hard to be something we're not, only to get along with others.  I think if most people grew some thicker skin we'd be better off not hiding our feelings at all.

4. Chapter 9 makes Atticus’ life much more difficult: the witches are in some way working with Aeghus Og, Bres comes after Atticus, and more trouble appears at the end of the chapter. Have you made sense of what has happened thus far? Any predictions for what might happen?

eeek I've already read the books....

5. Atticus has had plenty of time to cultivate attitudes and ethics that would allow him to live a very long time. What do you think it is about Atticus that has allowed him to live for as long as he has?

He keeps a cool head. He's seen it all, and knows when to be "zen-like" and when to kick butt. He doesn't go off after every battle that comes before him, he doesn't pick fights, he just wants to live in his little piece of the world, doing his druid thing. 

Thursday, March 8, 2012

Fair Game Patricia Briggs

Many of you may have read the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs. The Alpha and Omega series is set in the same world. This is the third installment of the A&O series. Honestly, you should pick up all the books. They're good reads. Lots of shifters and some Fae issues. Her world building is definitely done with a tempered hand. It is expertly woven over the course of several books. Nothing feels forced.

courtesy of google images
After the murder of three werewolves, Charles and Anna are sent to investigate a serial killer. They have to work with the FBI, Homeland Security and a newly formed governmental group CANTRIP (i kept reading it as cat nip) in order to bring the killer to justice. Charles is an Alpha without a pack, the right hand mad to the Marrok (head of all weres/his father) and his wife, Anna, is a much sought after Omega. You get a good deal of mystery and investigation. It almost read like a crime novel and the urban fantasy stuff was "almost" secondary.

This book was especially enjoyable. You got to see the progression of their relationship, a peak into the MT world, and some new developing politics with the Fae. The ending of this book was so bad ass. I was happy with the whole thing, but I literally squee'd while reading the last few chapters. It was such an epic declaration.

You really do need to read the first A&O books in the series to really be invested in Anna and Charles. So I wouldn't recommend just picking it up. But if you're on the market for a whole set of books, I would Tell you to Pick up the Mercy Thompson Series and then Give the Alpha and Omega series a shot.

Rating A-

Monday, March 5, 2012

Cage Match

Over at SUVUDU there is a cage match a brewing. Votes start today around 10 am est. Our favorite druid is involved. So go on over and give Atticus your vote. I mean c'mon he's a super ancient druid bounding around the Tempe, Arizona area. He's slaying Gods, dealing with witches, and spending time with a very lovable Irish Wolf hound.

Go Check out Kevin's blog for more details about atticus. Heck just go pick up the books.

Sunday, March 4, 2012

Nice Girls Don't Bite Their Neighbors

Courtesy of Google Images
This is such a fun and quirky series. Nice Girls Don't Bite Their Neighbors, is the fourth installment of this Nice Girls Don't... Series. The main character, Jane Jameson, is a librarian turned vampire/book shop owner.  In this installment, Jane finds herself in the midst of wedding planning craziness, vampire parenting, and trying to out maneuver her Satan-like grandmother from the beyond. A Jane Jameson book would not be perfect without there being someone trying to kill/maim Jane. I swear she is the definition of Murphy's Law. Whatever can, will go wrong given the right circumstances. In Half Moon Hollow, those circumstances must encompass just being Jane Jameson.

  I have a certain fondness of the Jane Jameson character. I identify with her on so many levels. She's a super book worm,Jane Austin loving, trivia spouting, murphy's law defining type of gal. I think we'd be besties if she were a real person. Jane finds herself in so many precarious situations/adventures, but they feel real. Growing up in the South, I feel like I know these characters. Molly Harper does a splendid job of weaving so many different personalities into each book. It doesn't feel contrived. You feel connected with Jane and her friends/enemies. Her mom is the quintessential over bearing mother. The town is full of small town southern gossip. It seems, well rather normal to me. Which is scary in and of itself.

I give this book a solid B+

If you want something that will give you a good laugh, check out this series. It's fun, it's smart and will keep you entertained throughout the entire book.

Friday, March 2, 2012

Iron Druid 1 Read Along Chapters 1-4

Hello everyone!

This is going to be a mega busy blog week. I have so much to review. I am extra excited about this. Plus I plan on leaving a short excerpt from the book that I AM WRITING. yes you read that right, i am going to drop a good little sneak peak at my newest creative venture.
But on to the read along. If you'd like to join, go over to the Geeky Blogger's page and sign on up.

1) Kevin Hearne had the most perfect beginning for this book:  "There are many perks to living for twenty-one centuries, and formost among them is bearing witness to the rare birth of genius."  If you were to live for centuries what do you think you would be excited to see? 

I think I would for sure love to see the changing dynamics of the world powers. You see some countries rise and fall, while others quietly take their place. Also, the evolution of architecture. I would love to see all the new juxtaposed against the old.

2)In the 2nd chapter we learn about the amulet and its protection powers!  Do you think having met the Morrigan and heard about Aenghus Og that it will be enough to protect Atticus?  I mean the Morrigan has a point about hot chicks coming after him and his defenses might be down! He is very male!
I felt that atticus was such an old druid, that he hadn't lived through all the craziness by pure chance. I think it would be good protection to a certain point.

3) The literary world's coolest dog is introduced in this chapter!  Did you love Oberon immediately?  Show me a picture or describe the type of animal you would love to have as a talking companion! (Cat, Dog, Mouse, Sloth, Horse---what is your pick--pictures please)?
I fell so dang hard for Oberon. I don't think I have ever wanted to adopt a literary animal quite as bad as him. He's so dern lovable!
and you said anything....

4) In this chapter Flidais asked Atticus what his name is and then precedes to ask if anyone actually believes he is Greek?  He says nobody pays attention to names here.  Do you know what your name means and where it comes from?  Or do you have a name you wish had?  Let's talk names!

Diane is the french version of the latin name Diana. She was the goddess of the hunt (Roman mythos) and the daughter of Jupiter. She was the roman counter to Artemis.

5) We learn about Atticus' lawyers in this chapter, a rather unique combo!  Without jumping ahead, would you hire a lawyer combination of two supernaturals who on the surface would appear to be natural enemies or at the very least two very Alpha attitudes? What would be the positives and negatives of that decision.

I absolutely would! They would strive to be the most awesome lawyers possible. I would never doubt their loyalyt because once a werewolf gives you his word, it's stone. 

Saturday, February 25, 2012

Corvis Rebaine makes Batman look like a nun.

Last week I picked up The Conqueror's Shadow by Ari Marmell and I really enjoyed the book. There were times where it seemed to drag a bit, especially with all the flashback scenes, but they did a great job of filling the reader in on the significance of a lot of the details.

I loved the way Marmell wrote his hero in this book. He was truly a dark anti-hero. The story begins near the end of a war that Rebaine had waged against the land and suddenly decided to abandon.

Rebaine, a man known mostly as The Terror of the East, was indeed a ruthless, frighteningly, downright dark as hell warlord. While his name alone, well actually the title he was given, was enough to send many a brave man running to the darkest hole they could find to hide in, those left to face him found themselves trembling at the sight of him. Standing tall in his black steel armor, plated with bone, with a helm that look so much like an evil skull atop his shoulders and a magically enchanted battle axe at his side, I believe many a foe surely died from fright alone.

After he abandons the reign of terror he had inflicted on the land, we next find him 17 years later, a simple man, with a wife, 2 children and a small garden that he farms to feed his family. A man of peace and quiet, he has long forgotten his dubious past. Well, he had pushed the memories aside..until his family is attacked and threatened. There's a new warlord, with his own style of terrorizing armor and magically imbued weapons and skills that is picking up where the Terror left off. He follows Rebaine's example so well that some even wonder if it is him. Even after 17 years of silence, the thought of the Terror of the East marching the battlefield still drives men mad with fear. Corvis wants no part of this new war, but the new warlord needs him to fight. So, to protect his family, and also the nation he tried to conquer, Corvis, now a simple farmer nearly 2 decades past his prime, must dust off his armor, don his terrifying helm and once again wield his magic axe.

As he sets out to build an army, he must first reacquaint himself with old allies. He hunts down a vicious ogre, a maneating witch(by maneating, I don't mean seductress), and he must also pair up with a demon he had used in the past to augment his powers.

While Rebaine is most definitely the "hero" of this tale, he is far from a good guy. I really enjoyed the way he was written. He was the guy that you want to succeed. You understand his reasons for what he does and you can appreciate the lengths he will go. If killing someone, just because they might recognize him from his past is needed, he does it. If he needs to slaughter a small village just to feed his demon, so that he can get the power he needs to defeat the new evil afoot, he will not hesitate. He is the good guy, that just isn't good. Definitely a darn good story in my book

Sunday, February 19, 2012

Book Read Along Announcement

In celebration of Kevin Hearne's Iron Druid's fourth installment being released in April the lovely ladies over at Geeky Blogger's Book Blog are doing a "Kiss me, I'm Irish" read along. They'll be going through a set of chapters each week, and sending out question. We will be participating, so tune in each week starting March 02, for our participation.

Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Picked up a new book

First I just want to apologize for the couple of weeks without a review. The sister and I both have been crazy busy with stuff going on. I picked up a book by an author I've never read before and tonight is my last night to work for a couple of days, so I should be able to knock it out and share my modest opinion.

In the meantime, I'll just share a semi-humorous tidbit about my visit to B&N yesterday morning.

I decided that I wanted to stop and pick up The Conqueror's Shadow by Ari Marmell. I was reading Kevin Hearne's blog and saw a link over to Mr Marmell's page and that particular book struck my interest. Anyways, I stop by the local B&N on my way home from work yesterday morning and mosey on back to the fantasy section to locate my newest read. Well, just as I'm about to step into one of the rows that contain all kinds of great fantasy books, one of the guys that work there stepped in front of me with a half amused, half curious look on his face and engaged me in some customer service based conversation.

guy: "ummm, sir, can I help you with anything?"
Me: "nope, I pretty sure I know where I'm headed, but I appreciate the offer."
guy: "eh, you sure?"
Me: "pretty sure, but I'll give ya a holler if I need ya."

So, I go over and start my search, I find all kinds of great books I want to pick up, but I'm on a mission here. I came for a specific book and that is the book I want. Well, I'm thwarted by all of the George R.R. Martin books, (I really like his books, I just don't have time to read the latest one right now..its way too long ) they are everywhere, and soooo alluring and keep me from being able to locate my book. So, I swallow my male, don't ever need help, pride and go and hunt down that book store feller.

Me: "umm, ok, I was wrong. I need help!"
guy: "no problem, what are you looking for?" (with an, I knew you were in the wrong area, smile on his face)
Me: " The Conqueror's Shadow, by Ari Marmell"
guy: "ok, let's see....OH! It's supposed to be in the fantasy area. Hmmm, you were in the right area. It says we have 1 copy, let me see if I can help you find it."

So, the very helpful young man accompanies me back to the same row, and we resume my search. Again, this guy is occasionally giving me a puzzled look, like I'm some kind of oddity. Like he was surprised that the book I came specifically asking for was in fact, a fantasy book.

We find my book, I go up front, make my purchase and exit the store. As I approach my truck and notice my reflection in the window, it dawns on me why this young man was a bit puzzled with me. He probably doesn't have very many extremely large men who pull up in an oversized truck and get out with blue jeans, boots, and a big white Stetson cowboy hat atop their head, and then head straight to the fantasy section.

Don't know if I ever mentioned I'm a country boy. :) Hope everyone is well and having a terrific week! Thanks for reading!

Monday, February 6, 2012

Not a book, but I'm really into this dudes story.

So, there's this guy named Andy Weir and he has a website, , where he posts his writings. He has several stories on there, some complete, some not. I actually encountered this guy through a link provided by one of the members on an off-roading forum I am a member of that is dedicated to full size broncos and guns and all kinds of manly stuff.

While I've read a few of his listings, the one story I am keeping up with (I check daily for updates) is The Martian. Sometimes he drives me nuts because he only updates every 6-8 weeks. I know he has to write everything and get it ready for public eyes, but hey, I'm needy with my reading! This past week was another example of my grrrness about his page. I saw an update, my heart swelled with happiness, then I realized it was not an addition to The Martian, but a new little short story. I say all this lightly by the way. I really do look forward to reading new installments, but I am actually very understanding about time constraints. Anyway, I digress, back to The Martian.

The Martian is technically an Earthling. He is the left behind, believed as dead and lost to his crewmates, astronaut. The story outlines how he was stranded, how he survived and how there was NO way possible for his crew to have any idea whatsoever that he might be alive.

It shows his determination, his intellect and survival skills put to the test to preserve his life. At times you almost want to cry and at times you will actually laugh out loud at his thoughts and his interactions with NASA and eventually his crew.

Weir does an great job of making you "feel" this character and his circumstances. The ordeals he goes through, the bureaucracy involved in trying to recover him and the emotions his crew, his supp port on earth and he himself are going through. He writes all this without making you go, "no way, that's bull malarkey" I highly recommend checking it out, if you can stand the suspense of waiting for further installments. Currently there is quite a bit of content there, so its not like you'll only get a half hour of reading entertainment.

btw, grrrness is MY word, but feel free to use it yourself!

Saturday, February 4, 2012

Driving Mr. Dead

Miss Harper writes with the kind of wit and charm that one often searches for, but rarely ever finds in this genre. She subtly weaves a sense of intelligence and humor in to her stories. Thus allowing a character to grow into something more than you may have at first expected. Her characters are personable, her writing is paced well. You never pick up one of her books to find yourself wishing it would just go someplace, in her books you're already there.

I give this book a solid B


Friday, February 3, 2012

Hunger Games are over, but my appetite was not completely sated

Well, I finished up the Hunger Games trilogy a few days ago with the third installment, Mockingjay. It did a good job of wrapping up the story, but not a whole lot more.

I don't have much negative to say, but there's not a terrible amount of great to say either. Don't get me wrong, I liked the story, really liked the story and I still recommend all three books. Mostly because the first book was really good and you HAVE to get some closure.

I can't say a great deal here, because I do not want to toss in spoilers for those who have yet to finish all three books, but I'll do the best I can, and say........POSSIBLE SPOILER ALERT AHEAD!

Mockingjay wrapped up the story with a semi-happy ending but felt a bit lethargic to me. My favorite part of the tale was the message the story sent about blindly following an oppressive government and the dangers of depending on "the state". It made a good point about sticking to your beliefs and not sacrificing who you all costs. Book 3, threw in another spin on the same theme about government being corrupt and having too much control, and I really liked that spin.

My problem was mostly with the pace of the story. Not that it was particularly slow, it just wasn't as quick moving as the first two books. Also, it seemed like Katniss(the main character) was not acting up the the character that had been established in the first 2 books. Yes, I understand that she had been through proverbial hell, and that it would take a big toll on the spirit, but I just don't think she would have sunk to the level that she did in the books. Of course, this was not my character to write, and I do respect the authors right to dictate these things. I guess it just wasn't what I expected of her.

When there was action, for most part it was pretty good, even riveting at points. It just seemed to me that there was a lot of unneeded hanging around. Almost like there was too much character building going on that never really developed into anything pertinent to the story.

All this being said, I still really liked the story. It has all the good things needed for me. A good plot about government control and the following plan to subvert that government, a tragic hero that overcomes diversity, some good action/fight scenes and closure. One thing I can say is, she wrapped up the trilogy with almost perfection. The final line of the final book was a perfect closing statement in any trial of literature. I definitely recommend all three books.

Monday, January 30, 2012

New Ebook Release

Molly Harper writes one of my favorite series, the Jane Jameson "Nice Girls Don't..." Vampire series. If there was ever a character that I identify with, it would be Jane. She's smart, sassy and sarcastic. Pretty much my kind of gal. Anyway, this isn't about Jane.

Image from Google Images
Ms. Harper is releasing an Ebook tomorrow January 31st. I want to give everyone a heads up. If it's anything like her other two series, I would definitely give it a shot. She writes humor with a hint of edginess effortlessly. The novella is called Driving Mr. Dead. It is a spinoff of the Jane James world, so I'm totes excited.

Here is a link to the synopsis from Ms. Harper's site.

Anyway, if you've never experienced the world of Molly Harper, I suggest you give her a shot. She is on my must read list each year. You know that list of authors that anytime they release anything, you'll pick it up because you just love their style of writing. Well yeah, she's on mine.

If you'd like to check her out here are a few ways to do so.
twitter: @mollyharperauth
facebook: Molly Harper

peace out yo!

Friday, January 27, 2012

The Awakening

The Birthright Trilogy is a dynamic series. You get a bit of fantasy mixed with a hint of chick lit, and a drop or two of Smex. There is a nice balance across the genre board. If you have a strong group of female friends, you'll find yourself identifying with these gals as they've transported to another strange land, with only each other as support. Nicole MacDonald's second installment of The Birthright Trilogy is just as fun as the first.

I will admit when I first started this book I was so mad at Nicole. It starts two months later? What?

But the big fight and the girls and what happened? I was a blubbering mess.

maybe I am exaggerating, but I was feeling like she was a bit negligent in her duties to make sure this book is EXACTLY what i want to read, because we all know that is the Author's first priority. (did you all get the underlying sarcasm?) But I will admit I felt a bit off balance with the jump.

The good news, that feeling of imbalance does not last long. Once you get going in the book it is great.

The pace was solid. It did not lag, something was always happening, progress kept developing. That is one thing you have to love about the series, that feeling of stagnation that so many series give you, is not here.

I know some people are still going to be thrown with the multiple points of view. I get it. It's tough to read this type of POV when we're not really exposed to it that often. But once you really get into it, it's fun. You get to see everyone's point view. I like to think of it as getting to try on the "different hats" of each character.

I liked the character progression of the sequel. The girls are growing individually, as a group and in their relationships with their partners.  I did feel the fight between Cat and Loi was bit "meh". I know my friends and I have crazy fights, but this conflict didn't feel organic (that's really my only complaint).

I loved the bad guy. I had a feeling it was going to go in this direction. I feel some "Muaahhhahaha" moments in the future. I love a well written villain. How can the heroes truly shine if they're not mucked up a bit?

The highs: the girls are getting more comfortable with their powers, you get a big twist on their origins, there's some smex, and my most favorite part..... There is a Dragon!

The lows: not really any true lows. I know some people are going to struggle with the 3rd person POV.

Final Thoughts
I have really enjoyed this series so far.  Don't let the multiple points of view scare you, if you give a it a shot i think you'll like this book.

Solid B

If you haven't, you should go back to the beginning and see where the journey starts. Nicole has been offering The Arrival free via her website

Saturday, January 21, 2012

The most Dangerous 1984 Lottery Game

Thanks Google Images
I know, I know, The Hunger Games is not a new book and I am way behind on reading it, but I had just never picked it up. A few days ago, I was strolling through the local Wal-Mart and saw the paperback for about 6 bucks. Since the sister had recently commented, "REALLY, you HAVEN'T read The Hunger Games?" I figured I'd go ahead and grab it. I'm glad I did.

I really loved this book. For me it was like a combination of The Lottery and 1984, with a bit of The Most Dangerous Game tossed in. However, it did not come off as a "ripoff". I think the author does a good job of getting her political philosophy across without it being over the top and taking away from the characters or getting complicated.

The story had a quick pace, was an easy read and kept me from getting bored. I could pretty much "see" everything that was happening and she did a good job at getting me pissed at the establishment. In my opinion, it sends a good message about the dangers of a government that is too big and has too much control over its citizens. Things that I feel aren't taught properly enough in today's society and makes me believe this would make a good read for students today.

I picked the book up on Monday evening, Wednesday evening I stopped and picked up the second installment on my way home. Now I've got to go back and pick up the final chapter of the trilogy.

The second book, while a bit predictable, was also a very good read and kept the same quick pace. When I say these books are quick and easy reads, I don't mean that to sound like I'm calling them simple and low quality brain food. Not all books are going to make you go into deep reflection and take a week to get through. But, they are great books for one of those days when you just want to do nothing but get lost in a movie, but would rather read.

I'll go ahead and pick up Mockingjay this week and hopefully give a better review of the overall series than just this quick blurb. I'm looking forward to the movie coming out in March.

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

I'm late with the review, please keep on holding on.

I suck, I'm late with the promised review. I'm working on it. But I can't really complain. I got gobsmacked by my muse and have been writing like mad. It feels wonderful. In one day I threw down 7k words. Which is pretty much what I do. I get hit upside the head by inspiration and write until my hands feel like they're going to fall off. I hate to detour from it, so i'm just going to follow this line of inspiration until it tells me to stop. So the forthcoming review may be stalled for a couple days.

But rest assured it is coming.

Friday, January 13, 2012

Just Finished Friday...

Just finished my esteemed Indie Author, Blogger Friend Nicole MacDonald's follow up novel, The Awakening.

I enjoyed the second installment of the Birthright trilogy. Do not fret, a very thorough and thoughtful review will follow sometimes this weekend.

In the meantime you can download the first installment from her website;

Great Job Nicole!

Tuesday, January 10, 2012

Dead on the Delta: Stacey Jay

picture from
I Love, Love books set in alternate settings when they are done well. Maybe some catastrophe has happened, maybe a nuclear blowout. All I ask, is for the author to just make it believable.

Dead on the Delta does just that. This book is set in a world where fairy venom is dangerous even deadly to some. The cities are surrounded by iron, to keep out the mosquito-sized bad guys. There are a few people out there who are immune to fairy venom, those people do the dirty jobs that may take them into areas filled with fairies.
Enter our protagonist; Annabelle Lee. A sassy, red headed border-line, okay across the line, alcoholic. Her abilities find her helping the right side of the law, and in the arms of her main love interest, a detective in the Bayou's police department.

The story is set in the Bayou of Louisiana. Jay does a great job of capturing that dirty charm the South has to offer. Living in the South myself, I feel like I knew these colorful characters. The bitchy sisters, the charged racial tensions, the drug runners, the rapscallions. I've met them, grew up with them, befriended some,  oh hell I'm related to most of these types of folks.

Annabelle Lee is flawed, she's far from perfect and she stumbles through life. I like this. Where many authors don't let their main character get dirty and make mistakes, Jay gives her character a breath of realism. Many heroines are so perfect, so very moral. Annabelle Lee, is not confined to those constraints.
This book brings you drug addiction, sassiness,  two sexy love interests, a murder investigation and a feeling that even in the gritty bayou, things may be dirtier than you first imagined. Plus a good dose of Paranormal otherness that makes this book stand above other Urban Fantasy type books.

I know some of these elements I mentioned sound familiar. But rest assured, Jay doesn't follow the rule book in Dead on the Delta. Her writing is entertaining, the pace is great and you don't feel like your treading water waiting for something to happen. I absolutely recommend this book if you like a little grit in your reading catalog. 

Lucky for us, there is a sequel in the works!

My Rating: A solid A-

Sunday, January 8, 2012

I need to find a new author who rocks my socks off

Last year when I found Patrick Rothfuss' series, I was elated. I was a kid in the proverbial candy shop. I have rarely found an author whose books I have enjoyed as much as I did this series.

There is a list of books that have moved me. A list of books that have caused me to reexamine my life and perhaps my way of thinking. Soon, I'll publish that list. It needs to be out there. I think most people would be surprised that one of my favorite books is about a Russian Jew who went through tons of torture during Czarist Russia. One of my other favorite books centers around a tart citrus tree and it's various benefactors throughout the ongoing Israeli/Palestinian conflict.

(If someone can guess those books, I'll think of something cool to give you. Maybe I'll buy you a book via amazon or bn? Or I'll make you a bookmark. something.)

But I need a new book, I need one that moves me, makes me question the world in which I live. I need to find someone with such a distinct voice that it pushes me to be a better writer, to write something so prolific that I could be satiate my wayward literary soul, if only for a moment.


Saturday, January 7, 2012

My turn for a 2011 recap.

Well, like Dianne said, this has been a lot of fun for us this past year. I am of a like mind with her that we should expand to reviewing just about everything we read, and not just things that we would highly recommend. This past year, there seemed to be a theme of mostly urban fantasy to our reading list. The fact of the matter though is that we both read books from just about every genre, so expect to be seeing a wider variety of books reviewed here in 2012.

Now for my recap:

Favorite new find
Kevin Hearne-Iron Druid Chronicles. Between the very entertaining story line and the awesomeness of the author, this was my favorite new find of 2011 and also my favorite storyline of the year.

Favorite addition to a long running series.
Jim Butcher-Ghost Story. This latest installment of the Dresden Files was really good. I enjoyed finding out some more of the back story related to the characters and Mr. Butcher did a good job of writing a “dead” character.

Biggest disappointment
Terry Goodkind-The Omen Machine. I'm not even sure what to call this book. Its either the latest installment, re-installment, or post-installment. I say this because the story was ended. Wrapped up, done, kaput. And it was finished beautifully. This is from my all time favorite series of books, The Sword of Truth series. See my previous post about The Omen Machine for more details.

Favorite epic story
Patrick Rothfuss-The Name of the Wind. These books are just great. Mr. Rothfuss is definitely a master wordsmith. I started out reading these books thinking that they were kind of slow, however, I could not put them down. The pace that he writes and the way he writes is almost hypnotic. I just cant explain it.

Well, there's my short recap of 2011. I've had fun with my meager contributions here and really hope to contribute much more in 2012.

Sample text

Sample Text

I review for BookSneeze®

Sample Text

Fate's Edge- Ilona Andrews
Tricked- Kevin Hearne (IDC 4)
The Doors of Stone (King Killer Chronicles) Patrick Rothfuss
Whatever Jim Butcher writes in 2012
Bear meets Girl- Shelly Laurenston
Biting Cold- Chloe Neill
Sacrificial Magic- Stacia Kane
Molly Harper- Jane Madison Nice Girls don't Bite Their Neighbors
Patricia Briggs- Omega #3
more, but that's a good start for now.