Sunday, September 29, 2013

Rhythym and Bluegrass

I adore Molly Harper. I am a big fan of her "Nice Girls..." series. She has a penchant for weaving in humor throughout her stories and making you invest in her characters. I thought I would give her fiction a shot and I was not disappointed. They're bit chick litish, but ya know. those are super fun from time to time.

"Kentucky Tourism Commission employee Bonnie Turkle is up Mud Creek without a paddle. When she gets permission from the state historical society to restore McBride’s Music Hall in Mud Creek, Kentucky, to its former glory, she thinks the community will welcome her with open arms. Instead, her plans interfere with a proposal to sell the property to a factory that would bring much-needed jobs to the town.
Even though Bonnie is trying to preserve mayor Will McBride’s family heritage, he is more concerned with the welfare of his people than memories of the past. Will finds her optimistic sentimentality extremely annoying—but that doesn’t stop him from kissing Bonnie senseless.

With an inspection deadline looming and local saboteurs ruining her restoration, Bonnie must find a way to compromise with Will to save McBride’s and the town…while hopefully winning a few more kisses in the process!"

I give it 3.5 cups of sugar.

Tuesday, May 7, 2013

Dead Ever After: Review

I can sum up my review of this very long series in one word/sound.


Friday, May 3, 2013

Bitter Disenchantment: Coveted Novella

I previously read one of Ms. Madison's books and it was OKAY. It didn't light my socks on fire, but it wasn't bad by any means. I picked up this novella, not knowing about the rest of the coveted series. It turned out okay, b/c this is a prequel to the rest of the coveted series.

"Werewolf Natalya Stravinsky's outspoken sidekick, Aggie McClure, is featured in this prequel novella. Before Agatha set foot in South Toms River, New Jersey, she had the fight of her life to face. Destined to be the alpha female over her Manhattan pack, Aggie was fully prepared to take on her role until her father arranges a marriage without her consent. She wants out–but the only way is with money–something her new controlling husband won't give her to escape. But such odds never kept a wolf like Aggie down. To sever the twisted tie, she finds herself pitted against raging wood nymphs and backstabbing brownies in an underground supernatural fighting ring. With every victory, the sweet taste of freedom is closer, but her husband isn't willing to let her go that easily. Until the very end, Aggie must fight for the one thing she's never had: a choice"

Right away, I loved Aggie. We all know I have a thing for an alpha female who can kick some ass. I knew that this character had swagger in spades just a few pages into the story. Seriously, this woman is married off to a raging A-HOLE. Then trapped in her apartment. So she defies everyone and becomes a pit fighter to earn money. She climbs down the side of her building to escape her guards, she is pretty much a bad ass. The story was a little predictable but Ms. Madison told it very well.

I give it a solid 3.5 cups of sugar.

What this story did do was entice me enough to pick up the other coveted novels. I recommend them very much. I think both of those deserve a 4/5 cups of sugar. but that's another review for another day.

ebook provided by netgalley

Saturday, April 20, 2013

Starting Now : book review"For years Libby Morgan dreamed only of making partner in her competitive, high-pressure law firm. She sacrificed everything for her career—her friends, her marriage, her chance at creating a family. When her boss calls Libby into his office, she assumes it will finally be good news, but nothing can prepare her for the shocking reality: She’s been let go and must rebuild her entire life . . . starting now. 
With no job prospects in sight, Libby reaches out to old friends and spends her afternoons at A Good Yarn, the local knitting store. There she forms a close bond with Lydia, the sweet-natured shop owner; Lydia’s spirited teenage daughter, Casey; and Casey’s best friend, Ava, a shy yet troubled girl who will shape Libby’s future in surprising and profound ways. 
As A Good Yarn becomes a second home—and the women a new kind of family—Libby relishes the different person she’s become. She even finds time for romance with a charming and handsome doctor who seems to be her perfect match. But just as everything is coming together, Libby must make a choice that could forever change the life she holds so dear."

This is the first Debbie Macomber book I have read. I bought a copy of the Inn at Rose Harbor for my Mother in law and she loved it. So I when I saw this on Net Galley, I thought i'd give it a shot. This is such a nice/sweet story. I could totally relate that feeling of thinking you have everything figured out and life is just as it should be, only to have everything fall apart.

I loved Libby and I enjoyed watching her find herself under her new circumstances. She carves out a nice little life for herself and has to come to terms with wanting what she has now (a life) or what she thought she wanted before (career success). I absolutely reccomend this book to anyone needing a pick me up and something nice/clean.

3.5/5 cups of sugar

Review Copy Supplied by Net Galley

Monday, April 1, 2013

Review: After the Ending

After the Ending was a somewhat enjoyable read. I was perusing titles on Net Galley and the premise of this book sounded interesting, so I thought I would give it a shot. After the Ending was written by Lindsey Farleigh and Lindsey Pogue and is set mostly in a post-apocalyptic era. Essentially an unknown Virus wipes out the majority of the world and two best friends find themselves on opposite ends of the United States as survivors in a new and unsure world. We follow them as they try to reach each other and a "safe haven".

Of course everything isn't what it seems, and there are lots of bumps in the road. Also there is some pretty snazzy slow to smolder romance build ups. I don't want to give too much away, but there is a good bit of action that will keep your attention.

My pros for this book: I love the friendship between Dani and Zoe. I imagine if the world as I know it were to end tomorrow and my bff was on the other side of the country, I would try my damnedest to make it to her as well. I enjoyed the abilities that emerge and I do like how the girls did learn to open up to others during their journey.

My cons for this book: It was somewhat predictable and there was an amount of naivety in certain characters that made parts of the story unbelievable. At least their actions. I also felt like certain things in the book were "too easy".

My vote: A good read if you want to read something along the lines of post-apocalyptic angst ridden romance. 

3/5 cups of sugar

Amazon Link

Saturday, March 16, 2013

Review: Wolf With Benefits

Wolf With BenefitsShelly Laurenston's Pride series is expansive. First, I must say that each one is better than the last. They always have me nearly rolling on the floor in laughter and her latest installment is no different. If you want to read a book that is filled with humor and really dynamic characters, this is the one for you.

Wolf With Benefits is centered around Ricky Lee Reed (one of them Reed boys) and  Toni Jean-Louis Parker. He's a wolf and she's a jackal. Ahhh canine heaven.  BUT we get to see tons of our favorite pride/pack members. That's one thing I adore about the universe Laurenston created. They are people you know. The wild dogs are your crazy fun cousins/siblings/neighbors. Blayne is that girl you love to death but maybe want to tie to a tree so she'll stand still, of course there's the dangerous Dee who you're glad you're her friend b/c you'd be fearful if she wasn't.

Ricky Lee spends most of this book following Toni around either because it's entertaining and he likes her, or to protect her because ya know, he likes her and she needs protecting. I love those Reed boys. Toni is a great character. She's the one normal siblings amongst ten prodigies. She's spent her life, managing their lives. I felt so bad for her a point when even she knows she deserves to break away and have her own little piece of life, but her siblings inability to take care of anything for themselves keep tugging her back. She has this overwhelming sense of responsibility. Which is admirable to me. We've not really seen the inner working of a jackal family in the series before and I found them rather interesting.

I won't spoil this too much, but when they bring in Novikov to handle the children because they're essentially just like him, had me in a fit of giggles. I guess one narcissistic psychopathic adult knows them all. Plus how could you not laugh when the 11yr old sculter/artist keeps following him around asking to do a nude study of Novikov because his body is perfection. Freaking hilarious, I tell you!

Anyway, I love Shelly Laurenston, her books keep getting better and better. I suggest you read them all because laughter is awesome for the soul and you'll feel ten lbs lighter after all the ab workout you'll get from reading her books.

I definitely give this book an A (or ya know 4 cups of sugar)

Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Book Review: House Rules

House Rules is the seventh installment of the Chicagoland Vampires series by Chloe Neill. Publication date: Feb 5, 2012.

I adore this series. There is a ton of humor and snark loaded into every book. Each book follows grad student turned vampire, Merit, in her duties as Sentinel for Cadogan House.

There is a lot going on in Chicago in this installment. Cadogan is breaking up with the GNP, rogue and affiliated vampires alike are being taken down, and the human population is becoming more and more weary of the supernatural community. There are several twists and turns in this installment.  But my favorite part is Merit's rekindling of her friendship with her former roommate turned sorceress, Mallory Carmichael.

When she and Ethan inevitably have some issues, she has a nice dose of girl talk with Mal. It felt... right. Mallory has a lot of atoning to do, but she's working toward some sort of recovery. I like that Ms. Neill has some sort of redemption for this character. I was so afraid she'd go the way good girls gone bad and we would never hear from her again after she nearly destroyed Chicago a few books ago. I don't know about you, but in my opinion, too many strong female lead characters are left without a strong female relationship/friendship. They may depend on their man, but a true friendship that feels natural/organic is lacking.

If you haven't already, go pick up this book. It's one of my favorite series. You'll need to start at book one or most of the book won't make sense.

Favorite Part:
We find out about the animal Jeff shifts into.

Least Favorite Part:
stupid fairies and Lacey showing up.

I give this a big ol A

Friday, March 8, 2013


So, the sister and I have been completely negligent to this blog for a few months. We lost our father back in August and it seems that we both just kinda lost our mojo. I know the winds were completely taken out of my sails with the sudden and unexpected, heart wrenching loss.
If anyone still checks us out to see what we've read and read our thoughts, I'm sorry for the absenteeism. Not only have I not posted on any of my blogs, I've not even worked on my own stuff that I'm writing.

So, here and now, let it be known, we will return. If anyone is still checking in, I promise there will be an update within the next week. I have read a few things, just haven't posted my thoughts. I know Dy has read a few books herself as well. Also, I'm getting back to work on my own book, and as I promised months ago, I will be sharing some samples here.

  So, if you're still out there, we'll once again be clogging up the interwebs with our thoughts and ramblings soon! Be well and blessed everyone...


Sample text

Sample Text

I review for BookSneeze®

Sample Text

Fate's Edge- Ilona Andrews
Tricked- Kevin Hearne (IDC 4)
The Doors of Stone (King Killer Chronicles) Patrick Rothfuss
Whatever Jim Butcher writes in 2012
Bear meets Girl- Shelly Laurenston
Biting Cold- Chloe Neill
Sacrificial Magic- Stacia Kane
Molly Harper- Jane Madison Nice Girls don't Bite Their Neighbors
Patricia Briggs- Omega #3
more, but that's a good start for now.